2015 Longhorn Innovation Fund For Technology Request for Proposals

Posted on: April 16, 2015

You are invited to attend the 2015 launch of the Longhorn Innovation Fund for Technology (LIFT) Request for Proposals on April 29 from 1:00 2:00 p.m. in POB 2.402 . Through LIFT, the Research and Educational Technology Committee (R&E) of IT governance selects innovative technology projects to receive seed-funding. Learn about the grant, hear from past winners, and consider submitting a grant proposal yourself. LIFT is open to UT Austin faculty and staff.

Each academic year, R&E is responsible for awarding $500,000 for use as one-time seed money for innovative academic technology projects that leverage information technology in order to improve quality of instruction, create a differentiator for attracting higher caliber students to the University, or result in a competitive advantage to the University in attracting sponsored research. Research projects can be awarded LIFT funds, if the research is applied with near-term practical use and benefit at the University. Preference is given to projects with broad impact across the University, particularly those proposals that address significant campus needs in innovative ways.

R&E also looks at the probability of success and adoption in evaluating proposals, with each member of R&E judging submissions on three main criteria Significance, Likelihood of Success, and Impact/Value. More detailed information is available on the LIFT website .

2015 LIFT Timeline

  • April 29, 2015 LIFT Launch (Hear from past winners, 1:00 2:00 p.m. in POB 2.402)
  • July 10, 2015 Deadline for proposal submission
  • Special extended meeting of R&E in July for award evaluation and selection
  • End of July/First Week of August 2015 Notification of awards
  • Beginning of 2015 fall semester Projects start

Please forward this message to anyone you know who might be interested in submitting an innovative proposal. If you have questions about the LIFT Launch or LIFT proposal process, please contact Angela Newell or Christy Tran .

See Also: